Skip to main content

January 2, 2019 :  A note from Coach Irwin…

Hi unified partners and families,

 

Happy new year, I hope everybody had a relaxing break! Our next practice is this Friday, January 4th at OHS from 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Here is the list of upcoming games, our first game being against Squalicum at Options on January 16th!

 

Thanks,

Coach Irwin

 

 

Hi unified team!

Here are some basics about requirements and how our team will look this year:

STRUCTURE

  • Season begins week of November 26
  • 2 days of practice a week through January 11, minus Winter Break
  • Games – week of January 14 through March 1
  • 1 practice a week once games begin
  • 6 games for each school to be determined by athletic directors
  • 1 Regional Tournament – Middle of February on the weekend
  • 1 State Tournament based on qualification at Regionals – First weekend in March

 

Please note there are new paperwork requirements for this season for both the school district and Special Olympics.

There are going to be some growing pains with this, but we will work through them and they are in the best interest of all involved.

 

ATHLETES

* You must purchase an ASB card to participate.

* You must have a Special Olympics Athlete Medical Form on file to compete in the tournaments coordinated by Special Olympics. Check with your coach to see if you have a current one on file.

* You must be cleared through their school to compete in athletics including a school physical form. Visit your school’s athletics office or website for information on paperwork required for clearance.

* Best case scenario is that you take both the School Physical Form and the Special Olympics Athlete Medical Form to the doctor at the same time and get both renewed every 2 years.

 

UNIFIED PARTNERS

* You must purchase an ASB card to participate.

* You must have a Special Olympics Unified Partner Release on file to compete in the tournaments coordinated by Special Olympics. Check with your coach to see if you have a current one on file.

* You must be cleared through your school to compete in athletics including a school physical form. Visit your school’s athletics office or website for information on paperwork required for clearance.

Thanks!

Coach Irwin

 

 

Hello Unified families, athletes, and partners,

I’m so excited to announce that our basketball season is starting up in just a few weeks! The following is a list of practice and home games (all at the Options High School gym). Unified partners, I will be getting paperwork for you in the next couple of weeks to fill out in order to join our team!

For families, athletes, and partners, I will have a shared outlook (office 365) calendar that will have updated practice and game locations/times. Please send me your preferred email and contact information and I will add you to the calendar! I will also post any scheduling updates to this page!

 

I’ll see you all for our first practice at Options High School on November, 26th from 6:15-7:15 p.m.

Mon, Nov 26:  6:15-7:15

Wed, Nov 28:  6:15-7:15

Tues, Dec 4:  4:00-5:00

Fri, Dec 7:  3:30-4:30

Tues, Dec 11:  4:00-5:00

Fri, Dec 14:  4:00-5:00

Fri, Jan 4:  3:30-4:15

Fri, Jan 11:  3:30-4:30

Wed, Jan 16:  7:00-9:00 Game

Fri, Jan 18:  3:30-4:30

Fri, Jan 25:  3:30-4:30

Wed, Jan 30:  7:00-9:00 Game

Fri, Feb 1:  3:30-4:30

Wed, Feb 6:  7:00-9:00 Game

Fri, Feb 8:  3:30-4:30

Wed, Feb 13:  7:00-9:00 Game

Fri, Feb 15:  3:30-4:30

Wed, Feb 20:  7:00-9:00 Game

 

Dani Irwin

danielle.irwin@bellinghamschools.org

(425)351-0107